Live when you still can!

Most people want a long life! Some say they want to live to the 90s, and 100s. They want to see their children, grand children, and great grand children live fulfilling lives.

For some reason, a long life has never been my wish. I just want a fulfilling life. And I don’t care if thats one or two extra days.

I had an interesting conversation with someone early this week. When I told them that I don’t want to have children, they asked about my legacy. A question I have heard a couple of times before.

I always have the same asnwer to this; if my legacy lies in another human being, then its not mine.

I live my life everyday. I live everyday like it is my last.

I am not putting off anything for tomorrow. This does not mean that I do not have dreams, or goals, or wishes. I have plans. But no matter what they are, I make the most of everyday because it could be my last. And if it were, I would rather not have any regrets.

I have lots of conversations with old people. Whenever I get the chance to sit with someone who is 25+ years older than me, I do not waste it. The most recent conversation I had confirmed my thoughts on this life we live.

While I sat with this sixty-something years’ old gentleman and listened to his words of wisdom on this beaitiful life we’ve been gifted, I was convinced that the key to a good life is making the most of everyday. It was like he knew the questions that lingered on the back of my mind, and he answered them correctly talking about appreciating the peope in your life and being present for every moment.

If there is one thing I have learnt this past year, it is that life comes at you fast and if you are not aligned to make the best of it, you will only realise that it passed you by when it’s too late.

The good thing about this life is that it doesn’t come with a manual. You might not be in control, but you hold the key to choose. Choose to live while you still can!

Leave a comment